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ADDING CORPORATIONS
Note: Playing against MarsBot corporations increases the automa’s difficulty, so you might 
want to consider a lower difficulty setting while you get acquainted with your opponent’s new 
capabilities.

SETUP
1.	 After selecting and playing your own corporation (but before selecting and playing your 

Prelude cards, if playing with that expansion), randomly select a corporation for MarsBot. If 
the same corporation was selected as the one you’re playing, select another. 

2.	If the selected corporation mentions black or white cubes, set aside the 6 cubes of those 
colors included with this expansion. Place them near MarsBot’s corporation card.

3.	Immediately resolve any instructions found in the “Setup” box of the card.
4.	If the card shows starting tags, resolve them as if they are shown on a card revealed during 

play. (Note: if the corporation shows an ongoing effect, it is already in effect during setup.)

Like the base game, if either this or the previous step would trigger an “any player” effect on 
your corporation card (for example, MarsBot places a city tile, while you’re playing as Tharsis 
Republic), perform that effect.

5.	Return to the box any corporation-specific bonus cards not mentioned by the selected 
corporation. They will not be used this game. 

6.	Now proceed to selecting and playing your Prelude cards, or to the first round if playing 
without Prelude.

MARSBOT CORPORATION CARD ANATOMY
MarsBot corporation cards have eight pieces of information:

1.	 Corporation Name.
2.	Corporation Logo.
3.	Starting Tags - These are resolved when the corporation card is played at the beginning of 

the game.
4.	Draft Priority - This is explained in the next section.
5.	Setup - This is resolved when the corporation card is played at the beginning of the game.
6.	Effect - This is an ability that MarsBot has throughout the game.
7.	Start Round/Beginning of Action Phase - Some corporations have effects that happen every 

generation. These effects are shown here.
8.	Card Number. 

When resolving a plant, microbe, or animal tag, 
including the starting tag, place a plant on this 

card.
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Place 2 plants on this 
card.
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If there are 5 or more plants on this card, 
remove 5 plants from here and MarsBot 

advances the plant track.
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NEW CONCEPTS
Draft Priority
Some MarsBot corporations have a Draft Priority. If so, the Draft Variant must be used against 
these corporations, and MarsBot’s Draft Procedure is modified in the following way (from 
Generation 2 onwards, naturally). Unchanged parts are in gray:

•	 Draw two piles of 4 cards from the project deck.
•	 Take one pile for yourself and give one to MarsBot.
•	 Pick 1 card from your pile to keep. 
•	 Look at MarsBot’s pile: if exactly 1 card matches the Draft Priority shown on the corporation 

card, give that card to MarsBot. If multiple cards match equally, select one of them 
randomly. If none of them match, select one of the cards randomly. 
•	•	 If a card has multiple tags matching the Draft Priority, it is considered a better match than 

a card having only a single matching tag, and is thus selected.
•	•	 Some corporations have multiple tags shown on the Draft Priority, separated by a “>” 

sign. Consider the first tag only: if no cards match that, consider the second tag, and so 
on. A card having the first and the second tag is a better match than a card having just the 
first tag (but a card having the first tag twice is an even better one), etc.
	»�	 Example 1, Celestic: A card with two Venus tags  (for example, Venusian Governor) 

is always the best match and selected. Otherwise, a card containing a single Venusian 
tag  is selected (choose randomly if multiple). If no Venusian tags  are present, a 
card with a Jovian tag  is selected (choose randomly if multiple). If no Venusian and 
no Jovian tags are present, one of the cards is selected randomly.

	»�	 Example 2, Saturn Systems: A card with both space  and Jovian tags  (for 
example, Ganymede Colony) is selected over a card with just Jovian (for example, 
Asteroid Mining Consortium), but that card would be selected over a card with just a 
space tag (for example, Space Station).

•	•	 The Wildcard tag  is not considered matching the Draft Priority tag(s) for this 
purpose.

•	 Swap piles with MarsBot.
•	 Continue until you have both kept 4 cards.
•	 Shuffle the cards MarsBot drafted, then reveal the top card. If it doesn’t have a tag matching 

the Draft Priority, place it in the general discard pile. If it does, set it aside, and check the 
next card. Repeat this until a card is discarded or all 4 have been checked.

•	 Shuffle a MarsBot bonus card into the cards MarsBot drafted. These 4 (in rare cases it can be 
5) cards become MarsBot’s action deck.

•	 You choose which of your cards to keep and pay for, as usual.
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Special Cases:
•	 Credicor: From every given hand, Credicor selects the most expensive card. If there are 

multiple cards of the same MC cost, select one of them randomly. In the discarding step, it 
saves the most expensive card(s) of the 4 cards it drafted, and discards one of the others. In 
the unlikely case that all 4 of its drafted cards cost exactly the same, it discards nothing.

•	 Aridor: Determine Aridor’s priority at the beginning of the drafting. For example, if the 
power and the Venus tracks are on the 3rd spot, while every other track is on the 4th 
or higher, Aridor’s draft priority is power this round (since power is closer to the top on 
MarsBot’s tracker board than Venus). The same priority applies both in the selection and the 
discard step. In the given example, Aridor would be willing to discard a card with a Venus 
tag, but would “save” one with a power tag. Re-evaluate this priority at the beginning of the 
next generation only. 

•	 Spire: From every given hand, Spire selects the card with the highest number of tags. If 
there are multiple cards of the same number of tags, select one of them randomly. In the 
discarding step, it saves the card(s) with the most tags of the 4 cards it drafted, and discards 
one of the others. In the unlikely case that all 4 of its drafted cards have exactly the same 
number of tags, it discards nothing.

Each Generation Effects
Some of the corporations have a box marked “Round Start” or “Before Action Phase.” Perform 
these instructions at the indicated time. Ones marked “Before Action Phase” are also resolved 
after setup, before the first generation’s Action Phase.

Special Cubes on the MarsBot Player Mat
Some of the corporations will place credits, white cubes, or black cubes on specified spaces of 
MarsBot’s tracks during setup. When a track advances to a space with a cube or credit, see the 
corporation card’s effect section for what to do. This effect resolves before and in addition to the 
icon printed on the track, unless explicitly noted otherwise.
If you regress a MarsBot track, moving back up the track will not retrigger a corporation trigger 
that was previously triggered.
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FAQ
Corporations

•	 Ecoline [base game], Ecotec [Prelude 2] - If your cards allow you to destroy or steal plants 
from your opponent, you may target the resource(s) on the corporation card. If there are 
fewer plants there than what you are allowed to destroy or steal, the excess is lost. You are not 
allowed to additionally destroy/steal from MarsBot’s MC supply.

•	 Saturn Systems - The Jovian tag effect of this corporation is triggered only when you or 
MarsBot play a card with a Jovian tag. An advance tracker effect on MarsBot’s player mat 
does not trigger Saturn Systems’ ability. The ability is also triggered if your Prelude card has 
a Jovian tag, but not if your corporation has the tag, since your corporation card is played 
before MarsBot’s. 

•	•	 If you’re playing Saturn Systems, and the MarsBot’s corporation has a Jovian starting tag, 
resolve your ability as if a card containing the tag was played.

•	 Pharmacy Union, Splice [Promo Cards] - If you’re playing Pharmacy Union or Splice, and the 
MarsBot’s starting corporation or any track or bonus effect gives it a microbe advancement 
(not a plant or animal), resolve your corporation’s effect as if a card with a microbe was 
played. 

•	•	 If MarsBot is playing Pharmacy Union or Splice, and your Prelude card has a microbe tag, 
trigger MarsBot’s corresponding ability. However, do not trigger MarsBot’s ability if your 
corporation has the tag, since your corporation card is played before MarsBot’s.

•	 Aphrodite [Venus Next], Lakefront Resorts [Turmoil] - This corporation’s effect overrides 
Government Intervention’s wording of MarsBot not gaining MC for effects from that card. 
When using Aphrodite, MarsBot does gain 2 MC from that card raising Venus’s global 
parameter; when using Lakefront Resorts, MarsBot does place a white cube or advance  
from that card placing an ocean. But either way, MarsBot still doesn’t gain the TR from this 
card.

•	 Pristar [Turmoil] - Government Intervention does not trigger Pristar’s ability.
•	 Utopia Investments [Turmoil] - Regressed tracks do not retrigger their icons on later 

advances, similarly if you decrease the MarsBot’s track via a production reduction effect. To 
remember this, place one of MarsBot’s player markers onto any space it regresses from.

Indie Game Studios 
Oakland, CA 94610

Email: info@StrongholdGames.com
And visit our website at: StrongholdGames.com

© 2024 Indie Game Studios
 All Rights Reserved STRONGHOLD

GAMES®


